Tags

, ,

A few years ago, I joined the RAF, trained as an Electronics Engineer and went out to work on the modern equipment of the Royal Air Force. That was the idea, the reality turned out to be the Bloodhound Missile System. Guarding the East coast of Britain from the threat provided by the USSR, a medium range anti-aircraft system. That was over 25 years ago, I’ve been a civvie for years, moved around a bit, done a few other things but will always remember the equipment that taught me my trade.

A bizarre turn has meant that one is going on display in our local museum, the Helicopter museum, Weston-super-Mare. I cheated and got a few pictures over fence.

Bloodhound 1.

Bloodhound 1.

Bloodhound 2.

Bloodhound 2.

Bloodhound 3.

Bloodhound 3.

Bloodhound 4.

Bloodhound 4.

Bloodhound 5.

Bloodhound 5.

Bloodhound Detail.

Bloodhound Detail.

This one, until recently was a gate guard at RAF Halton and has the 85sqn emblem towards the front, a squadron I was part of during my time. The display is officially opened on the 1st April. So if you get the chance pop along to look.

