Tags

, , , , , , ,

Everest Shot on book cover.

Everest Shot on book cover.

Doug Scott Book.

Doug Scott Book.

Last year I went to see a lecture given by Doug Scott about his life in the mountains. Proceeds went to Community Action Nepal so I’ll link to them here Doug Scott is one of my mountaineering heroes, which is why I now have his Everest summit picture taken by his climbing partner Dougal Haston, up on my wall and signed by the man himself. He has led an interesting life, which he now gives over to helping all the people who helped him in his high mountain career, the Sherpas. More information on his website, and I recommend going to one of his lectures if you get the chance. This piece is Ekphrastic Poetry, art taken from art.


Everest

He’s standing there on top of the world at sunset,
behind him, a spread of mountains,
getting here is only half the journey,
I know the story, the idea behind this one isolated picture.

I know about him getting down, about sleeping on a mountain,
surviving a night, making history, his story
and all the people behind him on the mountain
and the one who took the picture.

A rarity, a survivor, and here and now,
snow and summit in the fading light,
he’s got the smile of knowing he made it.
Today it was him, not the mountain.

