Tags

, , , , , , ,

Raven in Winter.

Raven in Winter.

It’s easy these day to pick up a camera, take pictures, publish. Show the world in a myriad of different ways. Yet the old lessons I had at school, using an old SLR, with Black and White film still hang in there. Using a camera to get the most involves, you, the photographer, the camera and the subject. And controlling all three is where the skill lies. Getting away from automatic and back into using the settings I choose has been fun, and interesting. Creating the image the way I want, not always good, but it makes me think more about what I am doing. Though the ability to just point and shoot will always have its place I am sure. Sometimes the top of a mountain is not a place to hang around with a tripod, and figure out the light and shade of an image. I think, a good image is like writing a short story, giving much in little. Today’s poem is in part a response to the weekly challenge found here.


The Math Behind the Numbers.
( A Camera Lesson in Fifty Words)

Look a little more in detail
at the relationship between
the numbers.

a triad of side effects, f-stop,
aperture and old film speed.
An elegant relationship,
that will change perception.

The plane of focus sitting
just over the core, the centre
that draws the eye.

