Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Walking in Britain is a wild affair, you need to take with you clothes for most seasons. On any day, on any hill you can pass through the full weather dictionary. Rain, wind, sun, snow, you get the idea, so going somewhere that has a monotone weather forecast can be a bit disconcerting. We don’t really know what to do with all that sunshine and we end up confused and ill-dressed. I did make an effort going to Tenerife, where the forecast was sun, more sun, and hot sun. I had some long sleeve shirts, protecting against the UV rays, I had a hat, which I promptly lost in the wind on Teide. I had a new water bag for my rucksack, so apart from the daylight water robbery in the refuge and at the cafe near Teide, on the whole it went well.

Showing some leg.

Showing some leg.

On two separate days I visited the town of Arona to walk the distinctive summits of the Roque del Conde followed by the Roque Imoque. Both these peaks can be seen from the beach, so it was too tempting to ignore them, it meant a short drive time and views back to the coast from the two summits.

Roque del Conde.

Roque del Conde.

Roque Imoque.

Roque Imoque.

The tracks are up these hills are good and you get wide views quite quickly. Once again the rocky volcanic landscape, slashed with gullies and steep riven edges gives a feeling of space and height as you climb higher. While there were a few groups on Conde, I had Imoque to myself, a nice break from the busy beaches and tourist towns all around the coast.

Views from the way up.

Views from the way up.

Views to the sea.

Views to the sea.

The walking here is unreal, broken views, craggy wild paths. The island views from up high show of the Canaries resting in the blue Atlantic all around. I have to say though, the variety is missing here. I’ve walked the shorelines, the high places, Towns and mountains. The Tenerife speciality of hot rocks and blue sea is good for me for short breaks. I wouldn’t want to stay, the heat makes everything hard work in the summer and the Island life is very closed in. Anyway, Teide will at some point show of the power, I wouldn’t want to be close when it does, I’ll take the British mountains for variety, Europe has plenty of choices, I like the cold too much for to stay anywhere south of the med.

Imoque from the summit of Conde.

Imoque from the summit of Conde.

Plant Life.

Plant Life.

Plant Life II.

Plant Life II.

Writing is a bit slow with all the summer stuff going on, and I have a slow net connection so not many pictures this time. I will catch up soon with another walking post, this time in the UK with the Iron Mountain trail in Wales. Until then, enjoy the summer and get outside to enjoy the world, it’s a wonderful place to visit.

