Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Tonight is the Poetry Cafe, Last Thursday of each month, there is a theme, but it is optional. Let me know if you want to visit and I’ll give you the details.

whenever I am here I like to go along and read my work out to a group of like-minded people. Even if sometimes they just look confused. Or for some of the shorter pieces, just kinda waiting. I like that quiet moment when they suddenly register that it is finished and that they can think about it. Not everyone’s style but it tends to be mine.

It is very different to publishing online, where you can’t see the whites of their eyes so to speak. And so I think makes a better writer of you. Listening to your own writing read out loud, even if it is you reading it is very important to your work. I couldn’t do with out it. Kudos to my wife who has to endure endless repetition until I finally get to a point that I feel it can be inflicted on the public.

How is it for you? Do you do any reading out loud? Your own or others work. and does it change what you think about a piece of writing? Let me know.

Jim

