Daily Post Challenge, I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.

Another Daily Post Challenge, an idea that tickled my fancy. Write something to use the line “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.” So here it is.

In The Dark Night.

It is dark, I lie in this bed alone,
the covers are wrapped into a mess
and I am aware of my cold sweat.

It is days now and it is not what I expected.
Where did you go?
I heard the door again last night,
but the house was empty when I came down.

Do you come in still to see if I have survived
another night alone? I haven’t the strength
to look for missing artefacts.

Darkness, the curtains crack drops light
across the room. It is enough to show
the space next to me. I know I should feel
Something. Only the pain remains.

I heard the car door slam,
and immediately looked at the clock.
It is not time. You have not returned again.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/16/daily-prompt-clock/

5 Comments

Filed under Everything, Poetry, postaweek2013

5 responses to “Daily Post Challenge, I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.

  1. Pingback: Dead lines | polysyllabic profundities

  2. Pingback: Time To Rewrite (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

Leave a Reply

